Steering committee

Functions of the Steering Committee

The SC will have an advisory role, with meetings to be held annually and additional meetings or discussions via e-mail as necessary. The Secretariat, headed by the ATI Director, will ensure a regular flow of information throughout the year and, if necessary, consult informally with the SC.

The SC’s function is to provide strategic guidance and contribute to the setting of policies and priorities, including through the endorsement of an indicative annual work plan. The SC will review progress under the work plan, as well as performance under the program. The SC will also be a forum for coordinating training on macroeconomic and financial analysis and policy design, including fiscal, monetary and financial sector policies, and statistics. To ensure efficient coordination, the Secretariat will share with SC members training plans and reports and feedback from participants. The SC may also be invited to provide strategic input into reviews of the curriculum offered under the trust fund, to ensure its alignment with existing and newly arising training needs in beneficiary countries.

Composition of the Steering Committee

Chair rotates annually among donors and AFRITAC Chairs.


• Mauritius
• China
• Australia
• Korea
• Seychelles
• Togo

Representatives of member countries:

• Chairs of AFRITACs’ Steering Committees:
• AFRITAC Central
• AFRITAC West 1
• AFRITAC West 2

IMF staff:

• A representative of the IMF’s Institute for Capacity Development
• A representative of the IMF’s African Department

Invited observers (including a number of potential donors):

• African Union (AU)
• African Development Bank
• The Bank of Central African States (BEAC)
• The Central Bank of West African States (BCEAO)
• College of the South African Reserve Bank (SARB)
• The Macroeconomic and Financial Management Institute of Eastern and Southern Africa (MEFMI)
• The West African Institute for Financial and Economic Management (WAIFEM)
• Training Forum of the Southern African Development Community (SADC)
• Regional Mauritius Center of Excellence (RMCE)
• New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD)
• European Union
• UK Department for International Development (DFID)
• Swiss Economic Cooperation (SECO)

Leopard Throw Pillows